Ask Again, Yes

About the Author: Mary Beth Keane

Is a well-known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the Ask Again, Yes book, this is one of the most wanted Mary Beth Keane author readers around the world.


Õ Free on PDF Ask Again, Yes  E-Pub Author Mary Beth Keane – theheartwork.co.uk
  • Hardcover
  • 400 pages
  • Ask Again, Yes
  • Mary Beth Keane
  • English
  • 23 June 2017
  • 1982106980

Ask Again, Yes A profoundly moving novel about two neighboring families in a suburban town, the friendship between their children, a tragedy that reverberates over four decades, and the power of forgiveness.Francis Gleeson and Brian Stanhope are two NYPD rookies assigned to the same Bronx precinct in 1973 They aren t close friends on the job, but end up living next door to each other outside the city What goes on behind closed doors in both houses the loneliness of Francis s wife, Lena, and the instability of Brian s wife, Anne, sets the stage for the stunning events to come.Ask Again, Yes by award winning author Mary Beth Keane, is a beautifully moving exploration of the friendship and love that blossoms between Francis s youngest daughter, Kate, and Brian s son, Peter, who are born six months apart In the spring of Kate and Peter s eighth grade year a violent event divides the neighbors, the Stanhopes are forced to move away, and the children are forbidden to have any further contact.But Kate and Peter find a way back to each other, and their relationship is tested by the echoes from their past Ask Again, Yes reveals how the events of childhood look different when reexamined from the distance of adulthood villains lose their menace, and those who appeared innocent seem less so Kate and Peter s love story is marked by tenderness, generosity, and grace. Download Ask Again, Yes – theheartwork.co.uk

10 thoughts on “Ask Again, Yes

  1. Tammy says:

    The cover of this book is remarkable and behind the cover is a remarkable book At first glance, the cover appears to be an example of a painting technique known as impasto I think Closer scrutiny reveals a typical suburban neighborhood that could be Anywhere, USA And so it is with this novel At first glance, Ask Again, Yes seems to be an American dream or coming of age novel and in some ways it is but beneath these obvious themes li...

  2. karen says:

    heads up to whom it may concern this book is primo book club bait in general, the best book club choices are ones with juicy conflicts at their centers which inspire strong, differing, politely expressed opinions from your assembled booknerds and the best of these have an extra component they allow the reader a sort of peripheral empathy taking recognizable, relatable issues like illness, marital job stress, disputes with the neighbors, etc, and then dramatically inflating them into situatio...

  3. Christine says:

    This one was really hard to rate until I thought things through as I wrote my review There are some very strong positives about this book, but the disappointments are well, really disappointing First, the positives Ask Again,Yes is extremely well written This author can really tell a tale in a most accomplished manner The story involves the relationships between two families and amongst the individual members of both from the early 1970s to the present The depth and complexity of the writi This one was really hard to rate until I thought things through as I wrote my review There are some very strong positives about this book, but the disappointments are well, really disappointing First, the positives Ask Again,Yes is extremely well written This author can really tell a tale in a most accomplished manner The story involves the relationships between two families and amongst the individual members of both from the early 1970s to the present The depth and complexity of the writing is impressive I thought for the most part these people were characterized in a deep and realistic fashion Moreover, my interest, though it waxed and waned a bit, did not falter though the novel is fai...

  4. Misty says:

    Very recently a question came up in a Goodreads group of which I am a member what is literature Definitions were bandied about and although there was some consensus, it was still fairly ethereal and ambiguous An online dictionary, however, offers this Literature written works, especially those considered of superior or lasting artistic merit.Ask Again, Yes is most certainly literature a novel that will not only assuredly be splashed across dozens of Best of 2019 lists, but one that will Very recently a question came up in a Goodreads group of which I am a member what is literature Definitions were bandied about and although there was some consensus, it was still fairly ethereal and ambiguous An online dictionary, however, offers this Literature written works, especially those considered of superior or lasting artistic merit.Ask Again, Yes is most certainly literature a novel that will not only assuredly be splashed across dozens of Best of 2019 lists, but one that will also be read, explicated and analyzed for years to come This is the birth of a cl...

  5. Michelle says:

    4.5 stars rounded up Thank you to Scribner and Netgalley for the opportunity to read this book and provide an honest review Ask Again, Yes was a really great piece of fiction writing If I could compare it to another author s work I would say this is for fans of Celeste Ng or Ann Patchett Family sagas are something that I look for because they almost always end up being my favorite stories I think there is a lot to be said for an author who can build an entire story out of one or two families 4.5 stars rounded up Thank you to Scribner and Netgalley for the opportunity to read this book and provide an honest review Ask Again, Yes was a really great piece of fiction writing If I could compare it to another author s work I would say this is for fans of Celeste Ng or Ann Patchett Family sagas are something that I look for because they almost always end up being my favorite stories I think there is a lot to be said for an author who can build an entire story out of one or two families and weave everything together Mary Beth Keane wrote this absolutely beautiful story with such care and concern for the journey they all take that anyone who reads it will fall in love with each person s faults as well as their strengths in what is a journey of friendship and love You know you are reading something amazing when...

  6. Bandit says:

    It s such a pure pleasure to get completely immersed in a proper novel This was very much a proper novel Exceptionally well written, large, multigenerational tale of families and obstacles No, actually, that s way too generic Try again Ok, how about a Romeo and Juliet style story middle class American style about two children from wrong families who fall and stay in love irrespective of their parents wishes Yes, that slike it The Gleesons and Stanhopes are neighbors, but not friend It s such a pu...

  7. Debi Hawkes says:

    Such a lovely book, deftly and subtly written, portraying the many challenges, different faces and forms, and rewards of family, marriage, parenthood, life and mostly love.Very well done author Mary Beth Keane I will need to...

  8. Jessica Sullivan says:

    This is a beautifully written and deeply nuanced family drama that ll almost certainly have wide appeal when it hits shelves in a few months.In the summer of 1973, Francis Gleeson and Brian Stanhope are assigned as partners with the NYPD and wind up moving to the same suburban neighborhood One night, a shocking act of violence occurs, dividing the families.But Francis s daughter Kate and Brian s son Peter are already close friends at this point, and over the years to come they remain drawn to e This is a beautifully written and deeply nuanced family drama that ll almost certainly have wide appeal when it hits she...

  9. Patty says:

    Ask Again, YesByMary Beth KeaneWhat it s all aboutThis was a deep dark thoughtful and provocative book about two Irish families who live side by side in the same neighborhood The husbands are policemen One family is happy, thoughtful as well as normal The other family harbors a dark secret that ultimately causes a traumatic incident that separates the families The problem with this is that Kate and Peterchildren of these familiesare destined to be together My thoughts after reading Ask Again, YesByMary Beth KeaneWhat it s all aboutThis was a deep dark thoughtful and provocative book about two Irish families who live side by side in the same neighborhood The husbands are policemen One family is happy, thoughtful as well as normal The other family harbors a dark secret that ultimately causes a traumatic incident that separates the families The problem with this is that Kate and Peterchildren of these familiesare destined to be together My thoughts after reading this bookAt times this book was so honest and sad that I wasn t sure I could read it But the characters were deep and had challenging issues These issues involved their past These issues involved mental health These issues involved alcoholism I was caught up in the lives of these characters and I really couldn t put this book down It was a compulsive page turner for me What I loved bestI loved best the instincts for survival and forgiveness that the characters had Kate and PeterAnneall of t...

  10. Staci says:

    Easy 5 star rating The Gleeson family and the Stanhope family are neighbors Francis Gleeson and Brian Stanhope are both New York City cops that had partnered for a short while early in their careers Brian s son, Peter, and Francis youngest daughter, Kate, are six months apart They re best friends that have seen each other every single day of their lives for as long as they can remember, until one night tragedy strikes and changes everything they thought they knew about the present and the fu Easy 5 star rating The Gleeson family and the Stanhope family are neighbors Francis Gleeson and Brian Stanhope are both New York City cops that had partnered for a short while early in their careers Brian s son, Peter, and Francis youngest daughter, Kate, are six months apart They re best friends that have seen each other every single day of their lives for as long as they can remember, until one night tragedy strikes and changes everything they thought they knew about the present and the future.This book was a coming of age story but it was also a family saga with mental illness, alcoholism, and infidelity testing the bonds within and between the Gleeson and Stanhope families Fortunately, there is acceptance and forgiveness to build and strengthen those bonds as well The writing is subtle and powerful The story is emotional and insightful I was on the edge of my seat for that last 30% or so of the book and at other times throughout it was very...