Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen

From the highly acclaimed author of Version Control a stunning, powerfully evocative new novel based on a true story in 1726 in the small town of Godalming, England, a young woman confounds the medical community by giving birth to dead rabbits Surgeon John Howard is a rational man His apprentice

The Indigo Girl

An incredible story of dangerous and hidden friendships, ambition, betrayal, and sacrifice The year is 1739 Eliza Lucas is sixteen years old when her father leaves her in charge of their family s three plantations in rural South Carolina and then proceeds to bleed the estates dry in pursuit of his

America's First Daughter

In a compelling, richly researched novel that draws from thousands of letters and original sources, bestselling authors Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie tell the fascinating, untold story of Thomas Jefferson s eldest daughter, Martha Patsy Jefferson Randolph a woman who kept the secrets of our most

The Wolf and the Watchman

In this breathtakingly bold, intricately constructed novel set in 18th century Stockholm, a dying man searches among the city s teeming streets, dark corners, and intriguing inhabitants to unmask a ruthless murderer perfect for fans of Perfume and The Alienist It is 1793 Four years after the

Blackberry & Wild Rose

WHEN Esther Thorel, the wife of a Huguenot silk weaver, rescues Sara Kemp from a brothel she thinks she is doing God s will Sara is not convinced being a maid is better than being a whore, but the chance to escape her grasping madam is too good to refuse Inside the Thorels tall house in