The Longing for Less: Living with Minimalism

Posted In art

More than just a story of an abiding cultural preoccupation, The Longing For Less peels back the commodified husk of minimalism to reveal something surprising and thoroughly alive Jenny Odell, author of How to Do Nothing Thoughtful and absorbing A superb outing from a gifted young critic

Boxitects

Posted In art

A STEAM centered, adorably illustrated picture book about Meg, a brilliant and creative boxitect who creates extraordinary things out of ordinary cardboard boxes.

Me and Banksy

Posted In art

A Banksy style protest against cameras in classrooms brings a group of middle grade students together For fans of Rebecca Stead, Susin Nielsen and Gordon Korman Dominica s private school is covered in cameras, and someone is hacking into them and posting embarrassing moments for the whole school

A Trace of Deceit (Victorian Mystery #2)

Posted In art

From the author ofA Dangerous Duet comes the next book in her Victorian mystery series, this time following a daring female painter and the Scotland Yard detective who is investigating her brother s suspicious death A young painter digs beneath the veneer of Victorian London s art world to learn

Rinus Van de Velde

Posted In art

The first monograph of color drawings by Belgian artist Rinus Van de Velde Rinus Van de Velde 1983 has built up an extensive oeuvre of drawings, sculptures, installations and film He is best known for his monumental works in charcoal At the start of his career, however, he also created small

New Kid

Posted In art

A graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing than drawing cartoons about his life But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious

Big Lies in a Small Town

Posted In art

North Carolina, 2018 Morgan Christopher s life has been derailed Taking the fall for a crime she did not commit, she finds herself serving a three year stint in the North Carolina Women s Correctional Center Her dream of a career in art is put on hold until a mysterious visitor makes her an offer

Strange Planet

Posted In art

I feel attractive.Honestly, you are.It s the star damage.I CRAVE STAR DAMAGE.Straight from the mind of New York Times bestselling author Nathan W Pyle comes an adorable and profound universe in pink, blue, green, and purple Based on the phenomenally popular Instagram of the same name, Strange

Almost American Girl

Posted In art

A powerful and timely teen graphic novel memoir perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo about a Korean born, non English speaking girl who is abruptly transplanted from Seoul to Huntsville, Alabama, and struggles with extreme culture shock and isolation, until she discovers her

How to Do Nothing: Resisting the Attention Economy

Posted In art

This thrilling critique of the forces vying for our attention re defines what we think of as productivity, shows us a new way to connect with our environment and reveals all that we ve been too distracted to see about our selves and our world When the technologies we use every day collapse our

The Great Believers

Posted In art

FINALIST FOR THE PULITZER PRIZE IN FICTIONWINNER OF THE ANDREW CARNEGIE MEDALWINNER OF THE LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FOR FICTION WINNER OF THE STONEWALL BOOK AWARDSHORTLISTED FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARDSoon to Be a Major Television Event, optioned by Amy Poehler A dazzling new novel of friendship

Hey, Kiddo

Posted In art

In kindergarten, Jarrett Krosoczka s teacher asks him to draw his family, with a mommy and a daddy But Jarrett s family is much complicated than that His mom is an addict, in and out of rehab, and in and out of Jarrett s life His father is a mystery Jarrett doesn t know where to find him,

Eraser

Posted In art

Eraser is always cleaning up everyone else s mistakes Except for Ruler and Pencil Sharpener, none of the other school supplies seem to appreciate her They all love how sharp Pencil is and how Tape and Glue help everyone stick together Eraser wants to create so that she can shine like the others.