The Fate of Fausto

Posted In art

There was once a man who believed he owned everything and set out to survey what was his You are mine, Fausto said to the flower, the sheep and the mountain, and they bowed before him But they were not enough for Fausto, so he conquered a boat and set out to sea Working for the first time in tr

It Began with a Page: How Gyo Fujikawa Drew the Way

Posted In art

Gyo Fujikawa s iconic children s books are beloved all over the world Now it s time for Gyo s story to be told a story of artistic talent that refused to be constrained by rules or expectations Growing up quiet and lonely at the beginning of the twentieth century, Gyo learned from her relatives

Judith Kerr

Posted In art

This season s second volume in The Illustrators series showcases the work of Judith Kerr, one of Britain s most beloved authors and illustrators She first started writing and illustrating stories for children when in her forties and some fifty years later she is still producing bestselling books H

Suzanne Jackson: Five Decades

Posted In art

Published on the occasion of the first full career survey of American artist Suzanne Jackson at the Telfair Museums in Savannah, Georgia, Five Decades illuminates a professional career that spans than fifty years, concentrating on a unique selection of Jackson s artworks and their relationships

If I Built a School

Posted In art

In this exuberant companion to If I Built a Car, a boy fantasizes about his dream school from classroom to cafeteria to library to playground My school will amaze you My school will astound.By far the most fabulous school to be found Perfectly planned and impeccably clean.On a scale, 1 to 10, it

Schilderslief

Posted In art

Op een julidag in 1650 wordt Geertje Dircx door de vroedschap van Amsterdam aangehouden, in een koets getrokken en voor twaalf jaar opgesloten in het spinhuis van Gouda Van een proces is geen sprake ze wordt monddood gemaakt Haar geliefde Rembrandt van Rijn heeft daartoe opdracht gegeven Vanuit

The Seekers

Posted In art

A small band of brave adventurers journey to save their village in this stunning debut picture book from papercut artists Hari Deepti Perfect for fans of Aaron Becker s Journey Mio and Nao live in the valley of Krum, above a great river that provides everything they need to survive As children,

Blue Spot

Posted In art

Daisy the kitten has gotten a blue spot on her new white dress How did this happen, asks her mama Daisy has an answer, which is anything but simple Instead, she responds with a wonderful fantastical story that includes a blue monster and plenty of blue treats Mama encourages Daisy to tell the tr

The Great Believers

Posted In art

FINALIST FOR THE PULITZER PRIZE IN FICTIONWINNER OF THE ANDREW CARNEGIE MEDALWINNER OF THE LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FOR FICTION WINNER OF THE STONEWALL BOOK AWARDSHORTLISTED FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARDSoon to Be a Major Television Event, optioned by Amy Poehler A dazzling new novel of friendship

Autumn

Posted In art

Daniel is a century old Elisabeth, born in 1984, has her eye on the future The United Kingdom is in pieces, divided by a historic once in a generation summer Love is won, love is lost Hope is hand in hand with hopelessness The seasons roll round, as ever .

New Kid

Posted In art

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing than drawing cartoons about his life But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade As he mak

Hey, Kiddo

Posted In art

Hey, Kiddo is the graphic memoir of author illustrator Jarrett J Krosoczka Raised by his colorful grandparents, who adopted him because his mother was an incarcerated heroin addict, Krosoczka didn t know his father s name until he saw his birth certificate when registering for a school ski trip H

The Doll Factory

Posted In art

The Doll Factory, the debut novel by Elizabeth Macneal, is an intoxicating story of art, obsession and possession London 1850 The Great Exhibition is being erected in Hyde Park and among the crowd watching the spectacle two people meet For Iris, an aspiring artist, it is the encounter of a momen

Sea Prayer

Posted In art

A short, powerful, illustrated book written by Khaled Hosseini in response to the current refugee crisis, Sea Prayer is composed in the form of a letter, from a father to his son, on the eve of their journey Watching over his sleeping son, the father reflects on the dangerous sea crossing that lies

I'll Give You the Sun

Posted In art

We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story At first, Jude and her twin brother Noah, are inseparable Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude wear