The Fountains of Silence

A portrait of love, silence, and secrets under a Spanish dictatorship Madrid, 1957 Under the fascist dictatorship of General Francisco Franco, Spain is hiding a dark secret Meanwhile, tourists and foreign businessmen flood into Spain under the welcoming promise of sunshine and wine Among them is

The Widow of Rose House

A young widow restores a dilapidated mansion with the assistance of a charming, eccentric genius, only to find the house is full of dangerous secrets in this effervescent Gilded Age debut novel It s 1875, and Alva Webster has perfected her stiff upper lip after three years of being pilloried in the

The Art of Theft (Lady Sherlock, #4)

Charlotte Holmes, Lady Sherlock, is back solving new cases in the Victorian set mystery series from the USA Today bestselling author of The Hollow of Fear.As Sherlock Holmes, consulting detective, Charlotte Holmes has solved murders and found missing individuals But she has never stolen a

Thirteen Doorways, Wolves Behind Them All

The unforgettable story of two young women one living, one dead dealing with loss, desire, and the fragility of the American dream during WWII When Frankie s mother died and her father left her and her siblings at an orphanage in Chicago, it was supposed to be only temporary just long enough for

The Poppy Wife: A Novel of the Great War

In the tradition of Jennifer Robson and Hazel Gaynor, this unforgettable debut novel is a sweeping tale of forbidden love, profound loss, and the startling truth of the broken families left behind in the wake of World War I.1921 Survivors of the Great War are desperately trying to piece together

Curious Toys

The year is 1915 and Pin, the fifteen year old daughter of an amusement park fortune teller, disguises herself as a boy to run with the teenage boys who thrive in the dregs of Chicago s street scene Unbeknownst to the well heeled city dwellers and visitors who come to enjoy its attractions,

The Queens of Animation

In The Queens of Animation, bestselling author Nathalia Holt recounts the dramatic stories of an incredibly influential group of women who have slipped under the radar for decades but have touched all our lives These women infiltrated the all male domain of Disney Studios and used early

Edison

From Pulitzer Prize winning author Edmund Morris comes a revelatory new biography of Thomas Alva Edison, the most prolific genius in American history Although Thomas Alva Edison was the most famous American of his time, and remains an international name today, he is mostly remembered only for the

Penny for Your Secrets (Verity Kent, #3)

England, 1919 In Anna Lee Huber s latest mystery, former Secret Service agent Verity Kent is finding that life after wartime offers its own share of danger The Great War may be over, but for many, there are still obstacles on the home front Reconciling with her estranged husband makes Verity

Words on Fire

New York Times bestselling author Jennifer A Nielsen transports readers to a corner of history with this inspiring story of a girl who discovers the strength of her people united in resisting oppression Danger is never far from Audra s family farm in Lithuania She always avoids the occupying

Allies

Alan Gratz, bestselling author of Refugee, weaves a stunning array of voices and stories into an epic tale of teamwork in the face of tyranny and how just one day can change the world.June 6, 1944 The Nazis are terrorizing Europe, on their evil quest to conquer the world The only way to stop